Spellcasting rules questions in D&D 5E answered

0
 

Wizards of the Coast have published some answers to frequently asked rules questions around spellcasting in D&D 5E, with a particular focus around spell components and spell slots.

Click through to this link to find detailed answers to the following questions (although we’ve written some quick spoilers):

  • Can a spell with an attack roll be used as the attack in the Attack action or as part of the Extra Attack feature? (No)
  • Can you use a melee spell attack to make an opportunity attack? (Not without the War Caster Feat)
  • What level is a spell if you cast it without a spell slot? (As per spell description)
  • Does a spell consume its material components? (Not unless specified)
  • If a spell’s material components are consumed, can a spellcasting focus still be used in place of the consumed component? (No)
  • What’s the amount of interaction needed to use a spellcasting focus? Does it have to be included in the somatic component?  (This is complicated)
  • If you’re concentrating on a spell, do you need to maintain line of sight with the spell’s target? (No, unless the spell demands it)
  • Can a spellcaster dismiss a spell after casting it? (Not normally)

Very good. Carry on.

Comments (0)

No comments on this article yet. Why not add your own?

You must be logged in to leave a comment.

DM’ing The Dragon Friends: We Interview Dave Harmon

"I get my close friends together and they bully me for two hours."

Dragon Friends: The story behind the best D&D comedy show around

What happens when three improv comedians pick up a Players Handbook...

Dungeons & Dragons Movie will have ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ feel

Ensemble cast, and possible future spin-offs.

D&D 5E represents ‘a new spirit of collaboration’: We speak to Mike Mearls

We talk the DMs guild, D&D movies, and more.

D&D 5E SRD launches from the team behind D20PFSRD

Glorious free rules.

D&D 5E heads back to Ravenloft with the return of Strahd

Strahd 2: Strahd Harder